The Rusk County Groundwater Conservation District was created by the 78th Texas Legislature in 2003 by HB 3569. The citizens of Rusk County confirmed creation of the District by an election held June 5, 2004.

Mission of the District

The Rusk County Groundwater Conservation District’s mission is to Conserve, Preserve, and Protect the groundwater resources for all Rusk County residents.


Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Rusk County Conservation District is composed of two members per County Precinct and one at large by election.

President – Bobby Brown, Precinct #4
Vice President – David C. Powell, At Large
Treasurer/Secretary – John Langston, Precinct #3
Director Precinct #1 – Ken Ragle
Director Precinct #1 – Jim White
Director Precinct #2 – Roy Vannoy
Director Precinct #2 – Harry Hamilton
Director Precinct #3 – William Sheehan
Director Precinct #4 – Emily Whitworth


Robert Thornton
General Manager

Diana Martinez
Office Manager

Jesus Quintero
Field Technician

Rusk County Texas Elections Office, find locations and dates of elections here.
Secretary of State Elections Division, find requirements and deadlines for filing for candidacy.
Application for a Place on the General Election Ballot, Secretary of State
Important Election Dates, Secretary of State

Next Election of Officers is November 3, 2020
District Order of Election including Voting Dates & Locations 2020 (not yet available, July 2020)
District Notice Deadline for Filing Application for Place on the Ballot (not yet available, June 2020)
Deadline for Filing for Candidacy of each elected office (July 20, 2020 – August 17, 2020)

Requirements:To be qualified to be elected  as a director, a person must be a registered voter in the precinct  that the person represents.

Director Expiring Terms 2020 Elections
Director Precinct #1: Ken Ragle
Director Precinct #2: Harry Hamilton
Director Precinct #3: William Sheehan
Director Precinct #4: Bobby Brown
Director at large: David C. Powell

Office Location & Contact

500 N. High St, Henderson, TX 75653
Mailing address: P.O. Box 97, Henderson, TX 75652
Office (903) 657-1900
Fax (903) 657-1922

General Office
or contact the General Manager at or the Office Manager

Office hours: Monday – Friday, 8:00a.m. to 5:00p.m.
Office is closed on holidays, District Holiday Schedule

District Facebook Page